Voir en


ATLAS recognises the accomplishments of its collaboration members


Winners of the 2020 ATLAS Outstanding Achievement Awards. (Image: ATLAS Collaboration/CERN)

The 2020 ATLAS Outstanding Achievement Awards ceremony was held online on 11 February 2021. Established in 2014, the awards recognise outstanding contributions in support of the ATLAS experiment, covering all areas except physics analysis.

The Collaboration Board Chair Advisory Group, which selected the winners, received a total of 61 nominations – of individuals or teams – for 32 ATLAS activities.

“The ATLAS Outstanding Achievement Awards provide a way of acknowledging the diverse efforts that keep the experiment producing high-quality data,” says Al Goshaw from Duke University (USA) and the Awards Committee Chair. This year’s awards highlighted eight activities involving a total of 21 people, recognising technical work on the detector operation, upgrade, software, computing and combined performance. Meet the winners on the collaboration website!

The Thesis Award winners take a Zoom photo with ATLAS Spokesperson Karl Jakobs and Collaboration Board Chair Aleandro Nisati. (Image: ATLAS Collaboration/CERN)

Also on 11 February, ATLAS celebrated its PhD students, a key cohort of the collaboration who make unique and crucial contributions to the experiment while working on their degree. Every year, their work is acknowledged through the ATLAS Thesis Awards. The theses that receive awards can cover any area of ATLAS physics, including detector development, operations, software and performance studies, and physics analysis.

“We received 41 nominations this year, which is more than in any previous year,” says Jessica Leveque from the Laboratoire d'Annecy de Physique des Particules (France) and the ATLAS 2020 Thesis Awards Committee Chair.

This year’s winners are: Christina Agapopoulou (University of Paris-Saclay), Milene Calvetti (University of Pisa), Jennet Dickinson (University of California, Berkeley), Kurt Hill (University of Colorado, Boulder), Luigi Marchese (University of Oxford), Cristiano David Sebastiani (University of Rome “La Sapienza”), Cecilia Tosciri (University of Oxford) and Marco Valente (University of Geneva).

Read the full articles on the ATLAS collaboration website: